Teaching At Community College

So, a strange turn of events happened several weeks ago. Though I had recently gone back to school in Pasadena to study Industrial Design, I wound up having to [temporarily] drop out as I was offered a teaching position at a Community College in Whittier, CA. I am teaching their “Principles Of Digital Photography” class.

10 minutes before start of class, students still coming in.

10 minutes before start of class, students still coming in.

This is the third week and so far so good. In fact, I’ve been asked to not only continue on through the fall, but to add more classes (I am contemplating developing a “Digital Music Technology” course which is more my specialty.) The thing about teaching at a Community College (which is a first for me) is the diversity of students, especially in age range. I have students from 18 years old to over 50; makes it very interesting when trying to relate to everybody!

This is definitely a new adventure for me and is allowing me to not only share my love of photography with others, but is forcing me to keep my skills honed and my knowledge accurate.

About Craig Anthony Perkins

Award winning Filmmaker, Composer, Photographer and Designer Craig Anthony Perkins began as a musician at the age of four, a magician at the age of six, and became interested in photography and filmmaking at a very early age as well. In the past Craig has worked in both a creative and technical capacity within the entertainment industry for companies such as Philips Media, Universal Interactive Studios and AVID, doing everything from video game design and film post production, to sound design, composing and technical writing. Under his own company Genshi Media Group, he has released several albums on the iTunes Music Store, has had his photography published in magazines and exhibited in galleries, his short films showcased in film festivals worldwide (with two of his films actually winning) and has designed indie art toys - including the much sought-after Broken Heart Robot - which has led to talks with two TV networks for consideration as an animated series based on his toy character. Now, between Filmmaking, Photography and Music, as well as performing as a working Magician & Mentalist, Craig is also helping others as a Creative Coach, Personal Consultant & Motivational Speaker; sharing his secrets to creative success and empowering those who seek the creative genius within themselves! View all posts by Craig Anthony Perkins

2 responses to “Teaching At Community College

You must be logged in to post a comment.

